Ohio-Columbus
Options

Help with Reception Location please!!!!!!!!

Hi!  We just got engaged last month, and I want to have our wedding next year, but we have a very low budget.  I'm trying to keep it under $3000 for the whole thing- including honeymoon. 

I am not hiring caterers.  We're going to have some of the family and friends who've volunteered bring in a dish.  I'm making my own cake as well.  I am a CCAD grad- and know a few photographers who will do the job at a discount.  We are going to get a couple kegs, and some wine as well.  So I'm looking for an alcohol-friendly non-catering banquet room/ reception hall.  I was hoping to find a hotel that would do this, but it seems they all force you to pay for their catering and alcohol vendors. 

My ceremony is going to probably be at one of the Highbanks Metropark shelterhouses.  I want to have it in the fall when the leaves are turning.  So a reception hall near there would be nice.

So if you have ANY ideas let me know!  My stepmom suggested trying to find a township hall- but I'm not sure how to find one of those around here.

Help!

Re: Help with Reception Location please!!!!!!!!

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I think there's a place called Camp Mary Orton close to Highbanks Park. I believe they have a lodge you can reserve for weddings, so it may be worth checking out :)

http://www.godmanguild.org/camp-rentals-c-14.html?info_id=14
    Anniversary
    wedding bio
  • Options
    Apr30Apr30 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    We were looking for places to bring in our own alcohol and we had a family friend have their reception at the Swim & Racquet Club on Kenny Road in Upper Arlington. Not sure if that is too far, but that may work. Unfortunately, they only allow receptions in the clubhouse from late September through May, but that may work for you.
  • Options
    Brit12Brit12 member
    First Comment First Anniversary
    edited December 2011