Wedding Etiquette Forum

Warning, kind of graphic

2»

Re: Warning, kind of graphic

• Oh manda, that's awful. At least you get to leave the office in a while.

I agree with Dani though, I don't understand why you would need to leave unless you saw it happen (which you sort of did) or knew the person. If I was a manager I'd offer liberal leave (you can go home if you want, but it's coming out of your time off and I won't hold it against), but otherwise people should be working. If your window was looking over the scene, I would definitely let you leave your desk and go home.
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_etiquette_warning-kind-of-graphic?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20BoardsForum:9Discussion:7a06376f-a2d6-4f12-8383-88a4a9f682f1Post:fd02ea57-3157-4123-a368-3864be70960c">Re: Warning, kind of graphic</a>:
    [QUOTE]@ MANDA, in no way was I trying to lessen how you feel by my comment of looking pitiful or asking to go home. <strong> I can remember 9-11 and how many of my students' parents pulled them out of school but the teachers could not leave. I called my mom, at least, 3 times before school was out that day, and I hadn't even seen the video of the buildings yet. So I understand where you are coming from with feeling trapped.</strong> My "LOL" was not intended to hurt you anymore than you already are.
    Posted by MISSCOURTNEY20[/QUOTE]

Perhaps I'm missing something, but what does any of this have to do with your suggestion that Manda exploit the situation in order to be able to go home? Yes, she should probably be able to go home, but it's wrong to fake unease in order to push the issue.

Speaking of feeling trapped on 9/11, you could have been much worse off than being stuck in a classroom. I knew people stuck under burning desks in the Pentagon. Sorry, but this topic gets me a little riled, especially when people don't treat it with sensitivity.