Not Engaged Yet

Hi, I'm new here.

I'd just like to get some honest opinions from you ladies about my situation. :-)

BF and I have been talking for at least 6 months about getting married. He has made it clear he wants to marry me and plans to propose. He says he wants to wait until he has the ring so he can "do it right" as far as the proposal. I guess I'm "engaged, no ring."  Back before Christmas, we were talking about what kind of wedding we wanted and everything and I said I feel kind of funny looking at dresses and all without a ring/proposal. He encouraged me to look all I wanted, so I have been, and he seems really excited whenever I find something I like. He was really supportive when I went to look at wedding gowns with my mom.

I guess my thing now is, it's been so long and I still haven't gotten the ring yet, or the actual "Will you marry me?". (I think that's what gets me the most.) I wonder if I'm half crazy for looking at things without the ring/proposal even though we have talked about getting married and have an understanding. I talked to him about my concerns and he is saying he should have the ring paid off by March. I have decided to not put any money down on the wedding gown until I get the ring. It's not that I don't trust him, I just feel funny putting down that much cash without at least the proposal. I'm cool with waiting for the ring or even if he had an inexpensive "stand-in" ring to propose with. What do you guys think? Have any of you experienced this situation? I guess I just needed somebody to talk to about things. :-)

Re: Hi, I'm new here.

• Wrkn925Wrkn925 member
    5 Love Its First Comment
    edited December 2011
    This is my situation.  BF does not think I'm crazy for looking.  He brings up subjects like wedding colors, dresses, guest lists, food, etc. 

We looked at rings in September, and he still has not proposed.