Georgia-Savannah

Small, simple Savannah wedding

Hello all!!
   I am new to the Knot forum. I actually just found it today, and was pleasantly surprised that there was a section for Savannah. Yayy. My fiance and I decided to get married in Savannah because it is just an awesome place. We are thinking of having a small simple wedding outdoors.

Our ideas so far...
- 10 people  (family and a couple friends)
- Outdoors- Forsyth Park, a square, or B&B garden
- Carriage ride to location
- No reception, dancing, etc etc
- Dinner at a local restaurant
- Carriage ride around town

Do I need a wedding planner with such a small ceremony?

Any tips, hair/makeup suggestions, floral suggestions, etc would be MUCH appreciated. :)

Re: Small, simple Savannah wedding

• iluvmytxrgriluvmytxrgr member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    Hi and welcome.  I really don't think you need a planner for your wedding.  You could do it fairly easily.  I think your first step is to pick your ceremony site.  There are quite a few in town.  Several of the B&Bs have elopement or small wedding packages for you to get married in their gardens. 
    If you use any of the parks or squares, you will need to reserve them.  Many of them are very popular for weddings and book up from spring to fall.  You could also look into renting a house with a garden down town.  You and your guests could stay there instead of staying in hotel rooms.  Then you use the courtyard for your ceremony. 
    My favorite florist in town is Colony Bay in Garden City.  Also look into A to Zennias and Garden on the Square. 
    For hair, I like 40 Volume. 
    For restaurants after, I would look at The Boar's Head, The Pink House, Vicks on the River, Cha Bella or Bull and Broughton. 
    Happy planning and let me know if you have any questions. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • chosen175chosen175 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011