Massachusetts-Boston

DB in Danvers for alterations... yay or nay?

I got my dress the other night and it needs minor alterations. Mostly hem and add spaghetti straps. It will take them 6 weeks to get it done. I am wondering if anyone has good or bad experiences with the seamstresses? Seems like they should be doing a good job considering how busy they always are.

I have seen Chris O'Hare's name here a lot and called her. She is booked until after labor day but said she could try to squeeze me in. She also said she doesn't press the dress, so that would have to be done separately.

Re: DB in Danvers for alterations... yay or nay?

• mkjpopmkjpop member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I have zero experience with alterations (my one bridesmaid dress fit great, and haven't bought the wedding dress yet), but my sister-in-law and a friend have had GREAT success with A Loving Stitch in Hingham.  http://www.alovingstitch.com/
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
    158 image 125 image 33 image 0image RSVP Date: May 27
  • noodle_oonoodle_oo member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    My friend had a bustle added to her dress that she bought at the DB in Danvers, and it was fine but she said *very* expensive.  In general I have heard bad things about alterations at DB, so I'd be a little wary.  Mainly that they are very overpriced, not sure of the quality of their work.

PS.  If you are looking for someone else, try Fay Carraher in Billerica.  She is doing my dress and she is SO nice!  Very reasonably priced and she will press your dress ($20 I think).
  • normonnormon member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I bought my dress at Vows and they recommend Anahit (not sure but I think if you google Alterations by Anahit it'll come up).  She's in Newton I believe.  My friend used her and thought she did a fabulous job but is on the expensive side.  I'm using Chris O'Hare. 
  • edited December 2011