Michigan-Detroit

How much do/did your tux rentals cost?

I've heard some horrible things about Men's Warehouse so I encouraged FI to go to President Tuxedo.  We went yesterday and found a tux for $150, plus he gets a free rental, and 2 weeks after we return all the tuxes he gets a free suit to keep.

He was wondering if $150 is a lot for the groomsmen to pay.  I thought it was average, but I'm not sure as I've never done this before :)  I told him he could check out MW if he wanted, or if he wanted to lessen the cost at President, he could chip in $150 and take $30 off each GMs tux (there are 5 GM total).

How much did your tuxes cost for your groomsmen? Where did you get your tuxes from?
imageWedding Countdown Ticker

Re: How much do/did your tux rentals cost?

• We went to Men's Warehouse (we had to use them due to where the other groomsmen were located). We went with the mid-grade tux and it was $170 without shoes.  I know that they do cheaper versions.

Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • mpicklmpickl member
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Comment
    $150 sounds reasonable to me, especially considering most bridesmaids dresses at bridal salons run right between $100-200.
     Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Because our GM & Kevin were wearing black, we just told them to wear a black suit & white shirt with black shoes. We gave them silk silver ties and pocket squares as part of their gifts.

Kevin's suit at Sears (pants & jackets are bought separately) was $120. The GM who didn't have black suits bought them.

This seemed to us the logical choice since all were men who at one time or another will need a black suit, and they cost approximately the same to buy as rent. Our wedding was in the summer, so the jackets were off as soon as they reached the reception, and all black pants look the same.

Here is how they looked as a group. You can't really tell they are not wearing rented tuxes.
  • Our Men's Wearhouse tuxes were $150-$160 and I think they included shoes