Snarky Brides

Pumpkin guts - Anna might know?

Help me out here, because I'm a pumpkin newb. I just carved my first jack o'lantern (FI carved his umpteenth) and now my dining room table is covered in stringy pumpkin guts. Now, I know that the flesh that sticks to the skin can be used for all sorts of recipes, but what about the gooey fiber stuff? Can I just use that the same way that I would the rest of the pumpkin flesh? Is there any difference? Am I even making sense? My internet searches have been inconclusive.
imageimage
Our Story MAJORLY UPDATED 8/6/09
Wouldn't it be nice to live together in the kind of world where we belong?

Re: Pumpkin guts - Anna might know?

• I know you can roast the seeds thats all I've got, sorry.

Other then that I always just threw it away. Maybe Anna's got something?
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Well I think everyone went back to bed.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Haha, indeed.
    imageimage
  • I don't know about using the stringy stuff in cooking, but I know when you roast the seeds you're supposed to clean it all off of them.

Sorry, I am Captain Obvious today.
    Abigail Rose, EDD 6/8/13 BabyFetus Ticker

Nose Job Blog
  • Throw away the stringy pulp - it doesn't break down during the cooking process and is really gross. :(
  • We tried cooking the stringy pulp with seeds once when I was a kid, and it was not good at all. I know it's a lot to throw away, but think of it as one big apple core. You're making good use of the rest of it!

Taco cat: Always a palindrome. ALWAYS, okay J&K?

"cool......insult my size 2 body or my natural brown hair...or the fact that my parents own a country club, I have no budget for a wedding, and I have horses. I really dont care. Its better then having roots." ~ futurepivko
  • Thanks guys! I guess I will just do what needs to be done.
    imageimage
  • anna.oskaranna.oskar member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited October 2010