Not Engaged Yet

Stupid sick cat is costing us our honeymoon :-( Plus it's finals week!

Our cat has been sick for a few weeks and yesterday he went in for an ultrasound.  They found "sandy sludge" in his bladder that needs to be surgically removed, and they can do that on Monday when they remove all of his teeth (his immune system is attacking his roots).  Neither is unexpected, he's had blood in his urine but no infection and bladder stones were the best guess from the beginning.  His grandparents were siblings, and his teeth have sucked since they started to grow in.

The bad news is, he may have lymphoma, too!  So they're doing PCR on a sample they took yesterday and when they have him open on Monday they'll take liver and pancreas biopsies as well because both look abnormal.  Luckily or not I'm a molecular oncology student so although  I don't know much about feline cancer, I know a lot about the diagnostic tools and treatment options.  If I had the feline primers I would have the PCR done myself by now, my old lab has a top-of-the-line QRT-PCR from their HHMI money and it probably would have been more accurate...

Anyhow, it just sucks.  We love our cat, he's only just 3 years old and super spunky and happy.  Neither of us can believe he has cancer, and after looking at the data I'm in agreement w/ the vet that it looks more chronic stress/infection related than cancerous. 

It's just super stressful to have our happy little kitty be so sick, and we're canceled the honeymoon because his care has completely drained our savings accounts, and it's finals week!!!!  AAAGGGHHHHHHH!!!!!

imageimageAnniversary

Re: Stupid sick cat is costing us our honeymoon :-( Plus it's finals week!

• hetshuphetshup member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011

Oh my goodness, I can't believe that your cat is that sick! What does his prognosis look like?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • edited December 2011
    Oh no! I'm so sorry. He's too young