New Jersey - South

Venue Advice- Winery vs. Shore

Hi! My FI and I are just starting to plan our wedding. I am new to Jersey (from Texas) so I haven't seen any places in person yet. He is from here so he knows much more about that area than I do. But I wanted to ask opinions from some women in the area.

We are planning on a November wedding (early- like the 2nd or 3rd). I feel like since we're at the shore, we should capitalize on the Cape May/Somers Point area. The ceremony is at St. Joes in Hammonton, so is Cape May too far for the reception? I hear good things about Smithville Inn and really like the pictures I've seen. The boy really like Renault Winery.

Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm looking at $90-$100 per head. Is that even possible around here? I feel like South Jersey is pretty expensive when it comes to weddings.

I appreciate any help y'all can give!! Thanks!!

Re: Venue Advice- Winery vs. Shore

• OliveOilsMomOliveOilsMom member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited December 2011
    Cape May would be at least a 45 minute drive from St. Joes in Hammonton.  Renault Winery would be much closer as would the Smithville Inn.  There are some hotels in the area around Smithville Inn, but none that I can think of in the area of Renault winery.  If you are from Austin, I would figure you will have family coming to the wedding who will need hotel accomodations.  While I don't know for sure the prices of Renault or Smithville, it is possible in our area to have a $90-$100 per head.  There is also Valenzano (I think thats the name) winery.  It's located right in Hammonton too on the White Horse Pike.  It would probably be only a 15 minute drive for guests from the ceremony.

I am having my reception at Brigalias in Sicklerville, it is gorgeous, and it is in the same price range as you are looking for.

good luck in your search!

Good luck in your search!
  • catalina513catalina513 member
    First Anniversary First Comment