Pennsylvania-Philadelphia

Cescaphe or Ballroom @ the Ben... Hotels?! Transportation?! Church?!

Hello,
 My names is Janine, Im new to the "knot-world." I got engaged this past June, and I have been looking at venues ever since! We are planning a 2013 wedding (preferably summer, due to my teaching schedule). After many trips to venues in NJ, we have come to realize that most are out of our budget (after tax and gratuity). My fiance is from PA, so we decided to head that way today... we found the Cescaphe and the Ballroom at the Ben, and after viewing both venues, we fell in love. The decision between the two isnt really the problem... I was wondering if anyone had any information about hotels nearby that are affordable... We have family traveling from Central Pa and the New York area...

Also, I know that there is a trolley service, I wanted to know if anyone had any information (likes/dislikes) perhaps pricing details about the trolley or other transportation youve used or are using.

Lastly, I will not be able to marry in my church, because its too far from Philadelphia, does anyone know a Catholic church close by that will be willing to marry out-of-towners :) (with consent from my priest)

Thanks for ANY advice!  

Re: Cescaphe or Ballroom @ the Ben... Hotels?! Transportation?! Church?!

• babe2331babe2331 member
    First Comment First Anniversary
    edited December 2011
    Congrats!

Both venues are very close to Center City Philadelphia, so hotels should not be a problem.  Just make sure there are no conventions or special events in the city that weekend and you should be okay.  There is also a Holiday Inn near the sports complex in South Philly which is very easily accessible to the roads into Center City.  The only drawback would be you mentioned summer and if there is a Phillies game that weekend, it might be crazy.  If you block out rooms well enough in advance, you might be okay.