New York-Long Island

How much for your DJ?

Hi! I'm an editor at TheKnot.com, but I'm also a newly-engaged Long Island bride :)

I only moved to LI in the last few months, so I'm not sure what kind of prices to expect for everything. How much did you ladies pay for your DJ? What is the average I should expect?

Thanks for your help!

Re: How much for your DJ?

• edited December 2011
    We have an upgraded package with flat screens and a few other bells and whistles and it's almost 3000.00
  • kttestkttest member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Mine is about $3200, we got the deluxe lighting as well as uplighting for the room.  I think their basic package was just under $2000.
  • edited December 2011
    It's hard to pinpoint an average; as the previous posts show, you can get uplighting, bells and whistles and a whole of other stuff, or just keep to the music with some mceeing (which is the route I went).

I got a 6 hour package for just under $1600 (including park fees, not including gratuity), and that was for my dj, assistant, and emcee duties.  We had plenty of meetings and accessibility over the email was good.  But that was before summer (and wedding season) hit.  Some djs charge travel fees; there's really a lot to consider.

I wanted to stay around $1500, so it worked for me; anything approaching $2k-3k just seemed like money I'd rather spend elsewhere.  My two cents...
  • lisalou402lisalou402 member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I was with you SLBRIZ...we stayed in the $1500 range. NO lighting or flat screens though. 
  • edited December 2011
    Our DJ was a recommendation by a close friend who works for WBLI. He is charging us $1050...this includes DJ, MC, Light show for 4 hours. If we wanted him to play for the cocktail hour and ceremony it would be an additional $150. The name of his company is Crowd Control.
  • scoobyd266scoobyd266 member
    First Comment