Latino Weddings

wedding lasso

Hi, all!

I am a jewelry designer who has designed many wedding lassos over the past year. I am just curious to know (from anyone who cares to share with me) your thoughts on your lasso, if you used one/plan to use one.  Is it a major player in the ceremony, in your opinion?  Would you prefer one that matches your colors, or are you just looking for something to get the job done?

Lots of my customers are couples who are not both Hispanic or not both Catholic.  Some do not want a crucifix, and a few have even asked for Star of David.  I'm curious to know the attitudes people have about the ceremony and its crossing over into other non-Hispanic weddings.  Any thoughts you want to share with me are very welcome!  And please use this coupon code: FREESHIP for anything on my etsy shop as my thanks for your time!

Thanks for your help!

Jennifer
http://jenniferjstanford.etsy.com

Re: wedding lasso

• Hi Jennifer,

I was just talking about the laso with my bf the other day. I am both Hispanic and Catholic and to me the laso is an important part of the ceremony. In my opinion, the laso is a visual simbol of how the 2 are becoming one, and they are literally "tied together" by the sacrament of matrimony that they are receiving. 

In regards to your question about matching colors, to be honest I have only ever seen white ones and am not sure how color would be incorporated. But I also would want the laso to look nice, since it is like a keepsake that I often see displayed in the homes of other Married Mexican Catholics. I too would like to keep my laso for display purposes after the wedding, as a reminder, so I do not simply want the laso to "get the job done" as you say. But i think like all aspects of the wedding each bride will have her own stance on what it means to her.

Hope that helps. And thank you so much for the cupon code!