Not Engaged Yet

Needing advice...

Hi there,

Hope you don't mind..this is my first time posting in here... I was wondering if I could get some advice or words of encouragement because I'm not really sure who else to turn too...

So my boyfriend and I have been together for a little over 3 years and living together for 1. Our relationship is great, we are best friends, we love each other, haven't had any major arguments, never broken up, etc. Anyway, in the early stages of our relationship we've both expressed that we think marriage is pointless, and wedding ceremonies are embarassing, and things like that...But, lately I've been feeling like I really do want to get married to him someday. It's been bothering me a lot lately because so many people around us are getting married, and iIt's not that I care so much about the actually wedding, I just want him to propose to me and let me know that he is truly serious about our relationship and wants to take it to the next level.  He doesn't know that I've kind of changed my mind about marriage so I'm sure he has no idea how I really feel.  I do kind of mention here and there things like "If I ever had a wedding..." or "If we were married  you could get my medical benefits through work..." But we ourselves have never talked about getting married to each other.

I can't say he is a very thoughtful person. He's never bought me flowers or jewelry, and rarely surprises me with things, so I highly doubt something like proposing is even in his mind. Another thing that kind of bothers me is that we was engaged to his ex, but it ended up not working out.

I feel like I've been leading him to believe that I don't care about marriage, so he shouldn't have to either. And I am nervous to bring up the topic with him.  I am not sure how he would react--I think he might tell me what I want to hear, but not actually follow through with it. Like maybe he'd say "I do want to marry you," but never prose.