Wedding Recap and Withdrawal

Blurb Photobook / Wedding Album = Excellent Choice!

OVERALL RATING: 
Laughing 9.5/10! Far exceeded my expections!  Laughing

MY BACKGROUND:
- I'm an amateur photographer trying to turn pro
- I've done design layout before and did all the print related stuff for my wedding

THE $$/DIY FACTOR:
Spending thousands on an album was never an option for me.  Why make someone else rich with something I can so myself, right?  Two weeks ago, I finally sat down and began the process of sorting though 800 photos and designing the album so we could gift them at Christmas to our parents.

WHY I CHOSE BLURB.COM:
Blurb was the only mainstream publisher which had the option of "image wrap" which basically prints my cover design directly onto the book (like a yearbook).  This was important to me because the purpose of an album lends itself to a lot of touching by a lot of hands.  A canvas or fabric cover would get dirty (and only has a small photo cut-out on the cover--- boring!).  A dust jacket (the thick, glossy paper cover around a hard cover book) would get crinkled and fall off. 

EASE OF USE:
The blurb photo editing software is idiot-proof.  In fact, my frustration was that it was TOO user friendly, and not sophisticated enough to allow a person with design experience go to town on their own (boo-hoo, right?).  For the advanced people out there, there is an option to design your page layouts and import into the doftware PDF.

SHIPPING:
It was supposed to take 12 days, yet arrived in 9 via FedEx (I only paid for ground shipping - $6.99)!

PRODUCT REVIEW:
  • I chose the premium paper option which (is a no brainer and) yeilded truly excellent results.  The pages are thick and rich, and are "bookstore" quality.  This is a must!