Massachusetts-Boston

friend who is a photographer

Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting... I'm getting married in August of 2012.  I have a friend who is a SUPER talented photographer - I love her work!  She's also my friend so I'm torn on what to do - hire or her or just invite her to come celebrate.  I sent her a quick email that basically said "we love you, you're our friend first but if you want the job it's yours, it's your call."  I didn't want her to feel insulted if we decided to get another photographer without at least offering it to her first.  She responded with "You're SO sweet! Honestly, I'll have fun either way so it's totally up to you! It's neat being a part of the day and spending extra time with you both to do the photos, and I'm sure your wedding is going to be a blast so it will be fun to be there as a guest. There is always some down time in taking the photos to sit and relax so I'd still be able to see everyone and enjoy."

So basically the ball is back in my court... she's really laid back and is good either way... what do I do? Thank you in advance!
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: friend who is a photographer

• edited December 2011
    I would go with someone else.  Things can get very tricky when using friends as vendors.

It sounds like she is very nice and understanding.  I guess if it was me I would want my friend to be a guest and maybe use her services for an engagement shoot or something fun.
  • edited December 2011
    My dear friend is also a great photographer, but we ended up hiring a stranger.  I really wanted my friend to just enjoy herself, and I did not want to risk the friendship.  I learned the hard way years ago that when you start to mix friendship with professional services, it doesn't always end well.
    Anniversary Visit The Nest! my read shelf:
    Margot's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)
  • edited December 2011