Louisiana-New Orleans

Wedding Videographer? yes or no?

I am going back and forth about hiring a wedding videographer. I have heard mixed feelings about getting one. Some say that its a waste of money and that you will never watch the video more than once. Others say that its a great investment. I'm really torn about it because its something that I would have to have to pay for myself since my mom is on the side of it being a waste of money.

For those of you who didn't get one, do you regret it? and for those of you who did, was it worth it?

Also, any recommendations for videographers that are reasonable? I'm a grad student with a limited savings, so I'm looking for a videographer that doesn't start at $2000.
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Wedding Videographer? yes or no?

• wmh6wmh6 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Our wedding isn't until next weekend, but we also went back and forth about it.  I was trying to cut down on the budget and never booked one.  Then about a month ago, we started feeling like we would really regret it afterwards since it was something we wanted.  My fiance and I decided to pay for it ourselves.  I searched around for a less expensive videographer whose videos I still liked.  We ended up going with High Rise Productions.  To cut down on the cost, we are not doing any prep...just the ceremony and reception.  If you search 'videographer' on this board, there are other suggestions also.  Good luck!
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • edited December 2011
    FH and I went back and forth too.  What convinced us was my mom saying she really wished she had gotten a wedding video to look back on.  We all went through the whole Katrina thing, so I guess it doesn't matter how many times you watch it, just that it's there to enjoy with your husband for the times that you do.  <3