Military Brides

Advice please!

Hi Ladies,

I am not sure what to do so I thought I'd ask for some advice!
I'm completely new to the military and the military lingo so if I'm using it incorrectly PLEASE let me know :)

My fiance was just accepted into Navy OCS and is going in December.(Which we're both REALLY excited about).  His training is supposed to be 3 months OCS then 3-4 more months of his specific MOS training. (Providing everything is done on time and not held back)  After he is done he will be stationed somewhere,(Obviously :)) and because of his MOS he was told that he should just plan on being deployed right away.   For the first 18 months he is working to get his SWO officer pin so he will be deployed and work- ups a lot.   

My question is should we just courthouse wedding it? From reading other posts it seems almost impossible to plan a wedding.    I also want to be sensitive to what he's going thru because I know this is a big life change.   Or is there a way to schedule time in the future off? I feel like a wedding is going to be a big pain and maybe not worth the hassle. 

Thanks so much!

Re: Advice please!

• billman2billman2 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    You and your FI need to decide what will work best for you. 

I can only tell you what we did.   We waited until after all his training to get engaged and then scheduled our wedding for a holiday weekend(4th of julyweekend) a couple months after he returned from his first deployment. We picked the weekend becaus we figured he'd most likely already have a long weekend as would my brothers and friends that are in the military--and thus be more likely to make it home for the wedding.

If you have your heart set on a big wedding, I would prob wait until after MOS school if I were you, by then he might have a better/more specific timeline.

If you do go the route of not doing it at a courthouse, make sure you get a military clause in every contract you sign.

Good Luck!