April 2012 Weddings

Tacky?

We've all seen the shows where bridesmaids would flake on the bride or there would be a miscommunication that sometimes ended lifelong friendships. I was thinking I would write up "contracts" for my bridesmaids and maids of honor just so they can know what I expect from them( expenses days i will need them etc.) and what they can expect from me(what im willing to pay for etc.).  I'm a mom my son will be going through his terrible twos during much of the planning im a full time nursing student and work full time. I don't need extra drama and stress.
Would you be offended as a bridesmaid if you were given a "contract" or do you think its a good idea?

Re: Tacky?

• Thanks I dont want them to feel like im being bitchy I was just thinking like a calendar kind of like the one we have here so they can know which days I will need them (trying to keep group activities to just saturdays) so I wont have to deal with the "I had to work" excuse. I'm really trying to keep everything they need under $500. Im spending a lot of money on them (I have 17 people in my bridal party) paying for hair nails makeup and toes for all as well as gifts for them. I just don't want to feel like I wasted my time and money on people who dont care about my big day
  • What expectations do you have for your bridesmaids?  Aside from being on time to the wedding with the matching dress, they have no obligations to you.  It is unfair to ask them to set dates aside this early in advance or to expect everyone to be there when other events could take precedence over your wedding. 

I also understand you are spending a lot of money on them but you are doing it because you want them in your wedding and that's your choice.  Make sure you tell them how much they are going to be spending in your wedding and take into consideration their own budgets.  Just remember that whatever they do they do it because they are your friends and want to see you happy, not because they have to.