August 2012 Weddings

The dress doesn't fit!!!!

So I'm TRYING not to freak out about this, but I had my alterations started a few weeks ago by my grandmother who is a seamstress. I bought my dress about 9 months ago, off the rack and for a very reasonable price. Then I started training for a half marathon, and trying to get to my goal weight. Since purchasing my dress, I have lost a little over 25 pounds, and 60 pounds since my largest. My grandma took in the bust area as that part was WAY too big. Then hemmed it and did the bustle. She had me come over last night, because the dress was done. I tried it on, and it is huge in the stomach and waist area. As to the point that it pretty much falls off of me.  It is an A-line dress with detailed rouching, and my grandma said if we take in the sides, it will make the rouching look off.  Then she told me there is no way she can make a dress that is 2 sizes too big for me, look good.  Needless to say I left there crying and very frustrated.

When I bought this dress I wasn't 100% satisfied with it, and didn't get that "feeling" with it. But nothing else I tried on was what I wanted. This was the closest thing to it so I got it, and I've 2nd guessed my decision ever since. 

So here's my options. Do I take it to another seamstress and get a second opinion? It now looks bunched up in the stomach and waist area, then tapers in at the bust (the only part she took in). Or since I'm not 100% on the dress, do I try to find a different one off the rack with only 7 weeks till the wedding? 

Now that I've lost all of the weight, and am finally to my total of 60 pound weight loss altogether. I would like something that flaters me, and with this dress I feel like I'm hiding behind it.  Then for her to not be able to take it in enough without it making the rouching look off.

What would you do?  

Re: The dress doesn't fit!!!!