Maryland

Modern-type venue within hour of BWI or on beach?

Hi all,

Any thoughts on a venue within an hour of BWI or on the beach?  I'm a DC resident (originally from MN) so I'm not super familiar with the area.

The biggest issue seems to be that most common venues are not really our style: stately mansions with crystal and china, rustic barns, traditional-looking hotels.

Ideally we'd have something with a little modern flair (a more modern hotel, photo studio, museum or art gallery space come to mind) or maybe a blank-slate type venue that we could do some work on?  Being on the beach would be great but not sure if I'm asking too much. We should have about 80-100 guests, budget is not too strict.  Thanks a bunch for any suggestions!!

jess

Re: Modern-type venue within hour of BWI or on beach?

• edited December 2011
    If you want to do waterfront and outdoor within an hour of BWI, I can think of a few places that might interest you:  Check out the Merrill Center at Chesapeake Bay Foundation in Annapolis.  In Baltimore, the National Aquarium, Living Classrooms foundation, and Museum of Industry are waterfront and all rent for weddings.  I'm sure there are many more in DC too.
  • edited December 2011
    On the water places I can think of are:

Celebrations at the Bay
    Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
    Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
    Herrington on the Bay
    Swan Harbor Farm

Not sre what your budget is, but with a lot of the water venues I ran into minimums taht I could not meet with a 100 person guest list (not all of the above are like that though).

Other unique spaces include

Walters Art Gallery
    Baltimore Museum of Industry
    Baltimore Zoo

I got married outside at Gramercy Manion - bot sure if it fits your style though but the gardens were amazing.

• edited December 2011