Jewish Weddings

Rehearsal Dinner?

Hi Everyone!

I'm in the middle of studying for conversion so I don't know too much about the wedding traditions yet, but I can't seem to find anything about the rehearsal/rehearsal dinner? Did anyone have one (or planning to) before their wedding?

Our wedding is on a Sunday in the summer, so if this is done, when would be the best time to schedule it so that it does not conflict with Shabbat?

Sorry if this is a silly question, but I'm still learning! Thanks! :)
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Rehearsal Dinner?

• 2dBride2dBride member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Traditionally, there is no rehearsal for a Jewish wedding.  I've now been married twice in Jewish ceremonies, and the rabbi just gave us instructions on who goes where a few minutes before the ceremony.

That being said, you can always have a dinner the night before.  At my first wedding, we had one for all the out of town guests who had arrived by the night before.  My second wedding was very small, and we provided accommodations for everyone for the night before the wedding and the wedding night.  We just ordered a bunch of pizzas for everyone the night before the wedding.
  • edited December 2011
    Ditto 2dbride. H's parents did host a dinner the night before the wedding but there was no rehearsal.
    Anniversary image
  • edited December 2011
    We did have a rehearsal dinner, which we did on Saturday night (our wedding was Sunday afternoon).  If you want to have one, you could either do it Saturday night starting late (after Shabbat ends), or if your guests are mostly local or will be there in time, you could do it Thursday night or have a rehearsal luncheon or something instead on Friday.