Pre-wedding Parties

Bad timing for shower

My husband-to-be is a teacher who was laid off last year because of budget cuts. He was fortunate enough to get another teaching job in a town about 2 1/2 hours away so he has been gone during the week this school year (I am a teacher, too). It has been really hard, but we got through it thinking it was only a one-year situation because a teacher at his old school would be leaving at the end of this year and he would get his old job back. I just found out last night that even though the teacher is leaving, the school district has decided to fill the position with teachers still at the school. I am beyond devastated and cannot stop crying because we are supposed to get married in July and it looks like we will be spending another year driving to each other on the weekends.

My bridal shower is tomorrow and I know everyone will be asking me about our plans for next year. I cannot even type this without crying so how I am supposed to get through a shower? I feel awful because I know how hard my family has worked to put together an amazing shower, but honestly, my heart isn't in it right now. All I want to do is crawl into bed and stay there for the whole weekend. Have any of you received bad news right before your shower (I hope not, of course) and if so, how did you get through the shower?

Re: Bad timing for shower

• sbolger17sbolger17 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I'm sorry this happened.  That really sucks.  Maybe you could tell a couple of people about the situation today and they can spread the word not to mention it tomorrow?  Having your shower will most likely make you feel better!  I hope you're able to enjoy the party.
    Anniversary
  • i2012doi2012do member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011