Texas-Dallas and Ft. Worth

Cupcake stands

So, I think I've pretty much decided that I want to do cupcakes instead of a traditional cake.  Our reception is more of a cocktail event with passed apps, etc.  Thus I think cupcakes make more sense, plus we have more flavor options... and well, I just love cupcakes.
I do plan on having a small cake on the top tier for cutting/show/display my DIY topper.

If anyone else is going this route, can you recommend a place?  (I've found a couple potential bakers, but have yet to do a tasting anywhere)

I think my biggest challenge will be finding a stand I like.  I do want the tiered look, but most of the ones I've seen are super tall and narrow, where I want a little wider with fewer tiers.
Considering just doing a search for serving-ware (not necessarily made for cupcakes)...
If I have no luck, I'll be commissioning my FI to create one out of steel (he used to be a welder by trade, now as a hobby).
Open to thoughts, recommendations and suggestions!

Re: Cupcake stands

• edited December 2011
    I'm doing cupcakes for my wedding and was thinking of making them on my own but now I have a tasting set up at the Cozy Cakery in Burleson.

I got my stand from Cupcake Tree. The price is good and you can choose the size that fits you best and decorate it to your liking. Here's the link: http://www.cupcaketree.com/test.html

Hope this helps :)
  • edited December 2011
    I am doing the same thing as you are - a couple different flavors of cupcakes with a small top tier to cut into. I just like cupcakes a lot better than cake, so why not? I just had a tasting with Tabitha Ballard this weekend and really liked her so she's doing everything for us, and giving us the top 6 inch cake for free with the cupcakes. Her prices are very reasonable, here's her page: Tabitha's Cakes

As far as the stand goes, I've seen this cardboard one online a couple of different places. You just decorate it however you want once you get it.
    Cupcake Tree