March 2013 Weddings

Dress shopping

My Mom, MOH and I are headed dress shopping this Saturday! This is my first time dress shopping and would love some pointers.
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Dress shopping

• Wear nice undies since people will see them. 
    Drink lots of water, since it can be a work out. 
    Try on different styles. Even if you don't think you'll like them, sometimes you can't tell until you look at it in the mirror so keep an open mind. 
    If you have a budget, I would say be upfront about it. Don't let them put you in a dress that you can't afford because chances are you'll fall in love with it and then face the tough decision. 

That's all I can think of right now. 
    Good luck!!

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • I agree with PP. Definitely tell them your budget upfront and tell your consultant that this is your first time trying on dresses. If you have pictures of dresses you like, bring them in and show them to her. And definitely be open to trying on some that you might not like initially or a different style. Aso, don't feel pressured to buy a dress that day. Think about coming down the aisle in that dress and if you can't picture it any other way, then purchase :)
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • -Tell them your budget and be adament about not trying on dresses outside of it unless you're willing to go up in price.
    -Try on things you might not like. Try different shapes (a-line, mermaid, ball gown), different fabrics (lace, silk, taffeta), and different colors (white and ivory) to get the best idea of what you like and don't like. Things look way different on the rack or on the models than they will look on you, even if you do have a great body!
    -Don't bring too many people. Too many opinions can be annoying.
    -Don't let them pressure you into buying something right then unless it's truly what you want. If you need to think it over, do it.