40-Plus Brides

Migraines

Thought I wouldn't add more, since there were already 24 posts on the other topic.  Lucy, I don't know if you've tried Topamax, but i've been using it for about 9 years and it's really helped my migraines.  They had really escalated to the point I was having trouble functioning, and I wasn't keen on taking Imitrex or Maxalt regularly. 

The upside of Topamax is that I did lose weight when I first started taking it, although I put most of it back on eventually.  I still don't snack as much, though.  The downside is it really has affected my memory negatively, but when I tried to go off of it about 3 years ago, the migraines were so bad, I knew it just wasn't time.

Hope that helps.  Take care.  They are the pits.

Re: Migraines

• Hi and sorry to butt in on this. I just wandered over to this message board and saw your post. I'm a long time migraine sufferer in my 20s, and 2/3 of my family are sufferers, too.

I'm a fan of Imitrex, but I can understand why some people aren't. Some of my migraines are hormonal, and birth control pills solved that issue until I was forced to go off them because of the stroke risk (I suffer from focal aura which raises the risk). 

One remedy that sometimes works for me is caffeine. In small amounts, it's awful. But, at the first sign of migraine, if I chug 2-3 cups of black coffee, it works like magic (when it works). Maybe that could be a solution for you. I also avoid chocolate, cheese, and red wine. 
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Lisa50Lisa50 member
    5 Love Its Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited May 2011
    Just throwing my $0.02 in on this thread ... although it is somewhat repetitive of what I wrote on the other thread.