Chit Chat

Sick of $$$ Problems (Venting)

I'm still in college and will be graduating in May if everything goes according to plan. I'm studying to be a high school teacher, assuming I can even got a job, let alone a teaching job, in this economy. My FI has a good job working with computers. Its nothing fantastic but its more than enough for a "single" guy to live on and pay the bills. He's living with his parents right now, but his parents have terrible financial issues and they keep asking him for very large sums of money that we both know he will never see again, on top of him paying rent every week. And if he doesn't give them the money (in the hundreds of dollars area) they will throw him out of the house, even though he pays rent. He told me at this rate, him and his younger brother could just rent a 2 bedroom apartment and it would cost the same, maybe a little less.
We're getting married in a little less than 2 years and we were hoping to have enough saved up for a downpayment on a decent house by then, on top of saving money for our honeymoon and some parts of our wedding. Luckily my parents were generous enough to pay for our reception, for which I am eternally grateful, but at this rate, no matter what he's stuck doing, it seems like there is no way we will be able to save enough for a down payment, our honeymoon and smaller wedding expenses if he has to keep paying his parents or if he gets an apartment.
I am totally just venting here because everytime I bring it up, me and my FI get extremely upset because it feels like we're in a vicious cycle that we can't seem to get out of. Anyone else have advice? Anyone else going through a similar situation? I'm sick of dealing with money issues.

Re: Sick of $$$ Problems (Venting)

• He needs to move out... living with parents when your over thr age of 18 is not such a great idea...