Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

What do you do if Photographer misses a formal shot?

Hi,
Is there protocol when your wedding photographer forgot a formal shot? My mom and brother walking down the aisle was not taken, and that's a really important one to me.  I emailed inquiring to them, and there was an apology.  Is that it? Or can I do something about it?

Re: What do you do if Photographer misses a formal shot?

• ceeceed80ceeceed80 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Most photographers contracts state that they cannot guarantee specific photos. I would check your contract, but then again, I don't think there is much you can do. I mean at most you could express your disappointment with not having that photo and hope that they give you some free prints or something. But, as a lawyer, I can tell you that it would not be worth your time or effort to try and get a refund over one photo. 
  • morainemommorainemom member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I don't think there's anything you can do.  It's unfortunate but it happens.

We didn't use a pro photographer at our wedding, but my BIL's girlfriend.  She didn't take any photos of my Dad walking ME down the aisle -- but she got 6 great shots (*rolling eyes here*) of my BIL, who was the Best Man watching me walk down the aisle.

I would ask friends and family if they have any photos of your Mom and brother.
  • edited December 2011
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/special-topic-wedding-boards_photos-video_photographer-misses-formal-shot?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Special%20Topic%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:30Discussion:64a4eea1-de18-42c9-8617-bef787449a32Post:8a4cd35f-447e-4815-9cf7-2fc7cc7c5549">Re: What do you do if Photographer misses a formal shot?</a>: