Chit Chat

How Young Is Too Young?

Hi Everybody!
I'm new to the knot and very excited to plan everything and hear everyones stories :)
So since I've been on here and seen some of the message boards it's no mystery that there are members of TK who are against young couples getting married. I can totally understand why and everything, but I thought I would get your opinion.
How young, in your views, is too young to be getting married? Is there a certain age or do you believe the level of maturity is what really matters?
Thanks guys and I'm excited to hear your opinions :)

Re: How Young Is Too Young?

• In my country, I have only been to a couple of weddings of people under 25, and they were judged as being "too young".

It is no big deal, at all, to live together, buy a house, have babies etc and not be married, so people don't really think there is any reason to get married young (and by young they really mean after not very long together eg less than 3 or 4 years)

It's just the way it is here. Most people I know were together at least 3-5 years, then got married, so they were 25-30ish.

I think under 18 should be illegal, 18-21 is prolly still pretty young. It would be interesting to see the stats on divorce and age.
  • I think there are MANY factors, but taking all of those out... I think anything under 25 is too young. My brother got married at 24, and I think him and his wife are great together (and they were together 7 years before that). But just as a hard and fast rule, I still think 25.