North Carolina-Outer Banks

Newbie here-Hatteras Bride to be!

Hi,

I've been stalking the boards for a while but think i finally have my "ultimate" ideas in place. This is a second marriage for me, so our wedding party would be our kids only, with about 40-50 guests.  After vacationing in the OBX most of my life, and scattering my father's ashes there, there's no other place I want to get married.  Here's my dream: Late Sept/Early Oct Casual wedding either at Cape Hatteras Lighthouse (or near with the lighthouse in the background) or on the beach of an event home sometime in the day.  Then, to save money, skip the dinner (have guests do their own thing and come back later) and have a "bonfire reception" at dusk/dark with light refreshments, drinks and a kicka$$ bonfire, with live acoustic music, our first dance by the moonlight and fire, and smores and popcorn around the fire! 

NOW--is this even possible?  I've looked into great houses in Hatteras, but not sure about having tents on the beach (for the music, food, etc).  I've searched the web for info and can't seem to find details on event tents on the beach.  I would even be ok with a couple smaller ones.....

I would also like to light the way to the tents with some kind of candlelight (or lanterns of some sort).  Of course Pinterest has helped with lots of ideas but many of them are on the West Coast where the rules are very different from East Coast beaches. 

One obstacle i think I'll run into is the pics in the dark may be tough to get but i'd think a good photographer could work some magic. 

So, any advice or guidance you might have is totally welcome!  Thanks in advance!
Jules

Re: Newbie here-Hatteras Bride to be!

• Hi!  I think that sounds like a great idea in theory but from what I am aware of bonfires are illegal on the beach in the OBX!  Can someone else confirm that?!?