Moms and Maids

MOH Advice - Budget Disagreements

TrixeetrixTrixeetrix member
First Anniversary First Comment
edited January 2014 in Moms and Maids
So this is my first time being a Matron of Honor so I am by no means an "expert".  The bride chose myself and another close friend to be maid of honor.  This was exciting as I got along just fine with the other MOH.  Her wedding is still many months away and I got a random message from the other MOH the other day basically saying "if you can't afford to pay for x, y and z you should not be in the wedding".  This disturbed me so I decided to talk it out with her in a mature fashion.  I was shocked to hear her outlook on weddings.  I told her I thought that we should speak with every bridesmaid (privately) to see what their budgets are for a shower and once we have a number plan around that.  There are many wonderful things you can do and so many options.  I know myself that I have a tight budget, which i explained, and I can imagine others have budget restraints as well.  While I can contribute something I can't agree to contribute "however much it costs" as she wanted me to.  I would need to set a dollar value that is comfortable for me and I wanted this to be clear up front as their would be no dispute over it later.  She basically said this was unfair to the bride and everyone else in the wedding and that I should not be in a wedding if I can't throw her a nice shower, which would mean catering, decorations, etc.  I explained that a BBQ could be a nice shower - especially in the nice weather but she felt this would be "skimping out" on the bride and not make her experience the best.  I see where she is coming from and can't fault her for wanting the best for her friend.  I want the best for her too.  But her take on weddings is that if one agrees to be in it than they must pay for whatever it takes to make it a wonderful day.  I told her that I wouldn't feel right just planning something and then saying "hey girls you