Wedding Woes

Maid or no maid

Dear Prudence,
I am a professional woman with a demanding job and a baby. I always figured that after starting a family I’d hire a house cleaner, just as my mother had done. We have the income to do this but my husband objects to this idea. He has listened to my argument that paying a cleaner would give us more quality time with our child and each other, but he says it makes him feel more loved to know that I have cleaned our bathroom myself. He is happy to do his share of the housework and doesn’t want me to contract out my share to a stranger. I don’t know if some women feel a kind of love for their husbands that best finds expression through scrubbing toilets, but, as it turns out, I don’t. I am tempted to secretly hire a cleaner for a few hours each week with my own money and pretend I’ve done the cleaning myself. Would this be wrong?

—Maid to Order

Re: Maid or no maid

• I'm very much in favor of hiring a maid service, but not lying about it. 

DK doesn't want me to hire a maid, because he thinks it isn't worth the money. I'm pushing to get somebody to come 1-2 times a month for deep cleaning stuff, just so we can have more family/free time. I think I'm wearing him down. I can sympathize with Maid to Order.
  • OMG.  She should not secretly do anything.  She should STATE, not ASK, that she's hiring a cleaner.  Then do it.  WTF.
  • Yeah, no, he can go fuck himself. Husband and I are looking forward to the day when we can hire a house cleaner, but until we clear the place of construction mess, there's no point. If that guy's measuring love by bathroom cleanliness, he can kindly gtfo.

• DH and I both want to hire a cleaner to do the bathrooms and other deep cleaning we don't want/like doing.  We just don't have it in our budget right now.  But soon!