Just Engaged and Proposals
Options

Young brides!

Hello! I was recently proposed to here at my military college. My fiance and I are both in the military, he is 20 and I am 18. We have been getting a lot of concern and even distastefull remarks to our new engagement because we are so young. I am a freshman here, and he is enlisted, so distance is not that much of an issue because we are used to our 2+ months away from one another. My step mom has been the worst offender, she says that she doesn't want to see me ruin my life, yaht yahta... she doesn't even want to look at the ring. Her and my dad want me to wait 4 years until I actually get married, I say only 2 years. Can anyone help me out when it comes to all this ?? Anything I can say to her? Any advice?

Re: Young brides!

• Options
    H and I have been together since we were 18 and 17 respectively.  We are now 30 and 31 and let me tell you we have changed in regards to how we see the world and how we deal with life completely different then how we did 10+ years ago.  Back when we were first together we relied solely on our parents for almost everything.  Yes we did have part time jobs but we were in school full time and our $10/hour part time jobs certainly wouldn't have supported us on our own let alone together.  We were also not nearly mature enough to be married.  We didn't know how the world really worked.  We were just blissfully unaware college students that believed that nothing could go wrong.