Wedding Cakes & Food Forum

Can I cut the fruit in addition to cake?

In your opinion, would adding a fruit platter at the same time as the cake make a big difference at a reception? I had initially thought about doing it because it would be nice to have it as an option for anyone who wanted something lighter at the end of the night. However, my food budget is a little stretched and I'm wondering if I could cut it. I have no personal experience with this because every reception I've been to when it comes time for cake I'm usually way too busy dancing and/or too full to think about eating (actually, I can't even remember the last time I had cake or any other dessert at a wedding).

Re: Can I cut the fruit in addition to cake?

• I'm confused by your post.  Did you want to cut out the fruit platter or the cake?  Or did you want to have a fruit platter instead of a cake?

You could always cut the cake before sitting down to dinner.  That way the cake can be served immediately after dinner. 

• You're doing the lemon cake with raspberry preserves, right? That's a pretty "light" flavored cake. I don't think you need fruit at all. If anyone doesn't want a heavy dessert, they're just going to not take a piece of cake or they'll just eat half of their piece. 

Since your food budget is already stretched thin, I wouldn't be offering additional stuff. Keep it easy, keep it simple. 

This.  Also, everytime your lemon cake with raspberry preserves is brought up my mouth waters. yum......
  • You're doing the lemon cake with raspberry preserves, right? That's a pretty "light" flavored cake. I don't think you need fruit at all. If anyone doesn't want a heavy dessert, they're just going to not take a piece of cake or they'll just eat half of their piece. 

Since your food budget is already stretched thin, I wouldn't be offering additional stuff. Keep it easy, keep it simple. 
    Yes! Good memory!

Oh my god that cake was so good. I finalized the order last weekend...