Wedding Etiquette Forum

Split Reception

PBorgstede91PBorgstede91 member
First Anniversary First Comment
edited September 2015 in Wedding Etiquette Forum
Okay my fiancé and I are trying to save money on our wedding. I was a manager for a restaurant years ago but remained close with the owner and he has offered to cater our wedding for free. 
Because of this we needed to find a low cost space to eat. We chose a different section of our ceremony location(a state park).
So what we want to do is have the ceremony, have the food at the park.
We have rented the top floor of a local venue and want to do the dancing, drinking, toasts and cake at this location.
My question is how to explain this in the invitations and how to word that?
Thanks!

edited for my terrible grammar 

Re: Split Reception

• I assume everyone is invited to both?

Is there a reason why you can't a place to do the whole reception in one place.      It's one thing to go from the ceremony to the reception. It's not another to start a reception at one place and then somewhere else.  I have a feeling you are going to lose people between the park and the roof top.

What differentiates an average host and a great host is anticipating unexpressed needs and wants of their guests.  Just because the want/need is not expressed, doesn't mean it wouldn't be appreciated. 
  • lyndausvi said:
    I assume everyone is invited to both?

Is there a reason why you can't a place to do the whole reception in one place.      It's one thing to go from the ceremony to the reception. It's not another to start a reception at one place and then somewhere else.  I have a feeling you are going to lose people between the park and the roof top.
    Everyone is invited to both yes. 
    The reason I can't have the whole reception on the roof top is I can't bring in my own (free) food and it would add an additional $1000-$1500.