Moms and Maids
Options

Not asking sister to be a BM (vent/rant)

2»

Re: Not asking sister to be a BM (vent/rant)

• Options
    CMGragainCMGragain member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited October 2015
    When I worked as a church organist, I saw a few weddings that I privately side-eyed.  One in particular haunts me.  A 17-year-old, VERY pregnant bride was marrying a youngish groom, who showed up to the ceremony high and reeking of marijuana..  While I was playing the prelude, he stumbled up to me, threw his arms around me, and slurred, "Man, you are beautiful!"  I was disgusted, but I kept playing.
    Afterwards I questioned the pastor.  He told me that he decided to let those two young people have a chance at success.  It was up to the two of them whether it worked, or not, and we shouldn't judge. 
    Maybe you should remember this when thinking of your sister.
    No, you don't have to ask her to be a bridesmaid.  Keep your mouth SHUT about any negative opinions you have of her.  It only makes you look bad.
    httpiimgurcomTCCjW0wjpg
  • Options

The difference is that you are close to your brother. I am not close to my sister. Ever since she beat the pulp out of me because I wouldn't let her drive home drunk, things have not been so rosey between us. I am also harboring bad feelings toward her because at her rehearsal, she said that nobody was giving her away/walking down the aisle with her, while our dad was 5 feet away! He was crushed. I could care less about my sister's feelings because she does the same shit right back.

I am grateful that my brother and I have a great relationship, and he is standing up on FI's side (brother's GF is one of my BM).

As previous posters (including myself) have said-- if you're not close to your sister, don't ask her. You are under no obligation.