Wedding Woes

How to motivate an unmotivated child?

mrsconn23mrsconn23 member
First Anniversary First Answer 5 Love Its First Comment
edited January 2016 in Wedding Woes

Dear Prudence,
When I was young, my parents worked very hard to put their children through college. Now my husband works 70 hours a week as a physician, and I am a part-time nurse. We live in an affluent part of town so our kids can go to the best public schools. My 10-year-old daughter is very intelligent but lazy and unmotivated. She received several F’s on the last report card for not doing her assignments but is not embarrassed at all. When I ask her to do homework or read, she gets angry and stomps off. Her friends have phones and tablets, and my daughter has asked for these items, but I cannot reward laziness. Thus, she is angry. What should I do? Her attitude stinks. I am concerned about her indifference and the effect it will have on her future.

—Concerned Mom

Re: How to motivate an unmotivated child?

• I'm jealous, yo. Enjoy your day off. 
  • What did Prudie say? I need this advice. 

Bacon almost refuses to do homework. We take shit away. We reward good homework behavior. She needs someone looking over her shoulder every damn minute to get things done, and it drives us fucking crazy. She's almost 12! 

But also - well, I don't have to bring work home. DH doesn't bring work home. We go to work, and come home, and that's it. Yes, I can expound on the virtues of self-discipline and how handy it will be if she wants an artistic career, and she's all "Nope. Art doesn't pay." 

She doesn't get very angry about being grounded or whatever we decide to do to punish. She knows she should do her homework. She understands she'll be in trouble. She just...won't do it without us micro-managing.