Wedding Woes

Again...say nothing, do nothing.

Dear Prudence,
Any suggestions on how to tell my mother that I do not want her at my wedding? She has been a mean and manipulative alcoholic my entire life. I finally stopped talking to her about two years ago after she caused serious legal troubles for my sister. Around the same time, I graduated with my master’s degree, and she didn’t show up to the ceremony because she was too busy at an AA meeting. She emails me once in a while to say she loves me, and it breaks my heart, but I don’t want to risk inviting her and have her not show up, or show up and get drunk and vicious. She has never been able to act right at major functions. She has not given me any reason to believe that she has gotten sober and stayed sober. Please help! I haven’t even told her that I’m engaged.

—Estranged and Happy

Re: Again...say nothing, do nothing.

• Has she never heard of a "Dry" wedding?!?!?  Fastest way to get an addict to not show up or leave early is to take the booze/fix away!

• Don't tell her she is not invited. Don't tell her when it is or anything else. Hopefully you aren't having a large event with every other member of the family. 

I can't imagine the pain of growing up with an addict parent and how hard it is to cut them out of your life. I will not say to reach out to see if she is sober or how that is going. Only LW knows if that is a good idea or not, sounds like it wouldn't be.
  • I disagree, @mesmrewe. LW specifically said she didn't want her mom there. Like Mrs. Conn said, she should do and say nothing - not even tell her mom she's getting married, IMHO.

Having a dry wedding is all well and good, but if LW wants alcohol at her wedding, she should be able do. But that's totally separate from the issue with her mom.