Wedding Woes

Thursday

Vacation Bible School is kicking my ass.  The kids are having fun, but I've fully realized that I'm not good with little kids.  I've also realized that my kids are awesome. 

Tomorrow will be really fun though, the zoo is coming with animals!

Re: Thursday

• I need to get an oil change and my car inspected today, but it's raining and I don't feel like trudging out. But I have a lot of errands the next 2 days, and I've been nervously driving around on an expired sticker all month. 

And now the rain means another couple days of my husband not mowing the fucking grass. 
    What did you think would happen if you walked up to a group of internet strangers and told them to get shoehorned by their lady doc?~StageManager14
  • Back in the office.  My mom got her biopsy results yesterday, and it's kind of good news/bad news.  The bad news is that she definitely has breast cancer.  The good news is that it's lobular, which currently has the best 5 year survival rate (85%!) of all the types of breast cancer. 

She has to go for a PET scan, to see if it has spread anywhere.  It is definitely in a couple of lymph nodes, but hopefully that's as far as it has gotten.  Meanwhile, they're analyzing her tumor for all kinds of things:  is it hormone sensitive or not, is it expressing HER2 or not, etc.  With that and the PET results, she can meet with an oncologist and they can decide whether to start chemo or anti-hormone therapy, and once she finishes that, she'll have surgery to remove what's left. 

She is doing really well.  I ended up staying at her place last night, because the aftereffects of the general anesthetic and/or the Percoset were making her woozy and nauseated.  But she's upbeat, she has a plan, and she is not too daunted by her odds.  My aunt, uncle, and Grandma arrive today, so she is going to have her hands full.