Wedding Woes

Dream your dreams cautiously.

Dear Prudence,
I am a lawyer and have a unicorn of a legal job—Monday to Friday, 9 to 5, with a good salary and full benefits. I started out at a big corporate firm where I was overworked and miserable, and thought this opportunity would be the key to happiness. Three years later, I’ve realized the law (primarily the constant conflict and lack of creativity) just isn’t for me. I am considering going back to school for a master’s related to my undergraduate degree, a field in which I think I would be happy and excel.

My hesitations are twofold: First, I’ve already spent seven years in school and amassed massive student loans which I will be repaying until I’m almost 40 (obviously much longer if I go back to school). I’ve already made the wrong major/career choice once, and I’m genuinely worried I’m just thinking about going back to school because that’s where people go when they don’t know what else to do. Second, I’m in my early 30s and planning on having kids in the next few years, right when I would be finishing my program, presumably unemployed and without any kind of maternity leave benefits. I am sometimes tempted to stick it out in this job in order to ensure my kids will not have to struggle the way I am now.

—Job Moans and Student Loans

Re: Dream your dreams cautiously.

• I get what she's saying (kinda) but how many people are in a job they totally LOVE? Is this a "grass is greener" kinda thing?

I may be weird in that my job is just that. A job. I have no lofty career goals and I just want to make enough money to be able to pay for the things I want. I have no expectations of loving my job and liking the people/business and tolerating the job itself is good enough for me.

Image result for someecard betting someone half your shit youll love them forever