Wedding Woes

Use your words? Lock your shit up?

Dear Prudence,

I’m a college student living off-campus with a new roommate. I’m not scrounging for change in the couch cushions, but I’m on a pretty tight budget. I have grocery shopping down to an art with coupons, discounts, and sales, and I enjoy cooking, so I usually have leftovers in the fridge. The problem is my new roommate who is constantly eating the food I bought and cooked. I can’t afford to feed her too, but she’s constantly going on about how she “forgot” to go shopping or she “just can’t” because she’s working on a paper. She also buys really junky food, or food with meat in it (I’m vegetarian), so it’s not like I can just borrow some of hers to even things out. I don’t want to be the person who labels everything of mine in the fridge with “do not eat,” but I like cooking a dish on Sunday and knowing all I have to do is microwave dinner Monday thru Wednesday. I wouldn’t have as much of a problem if I could afford a lot of food, but I just can’t. What do I do?

—Hungry Roommate

Re: Use your words? Lock your shit up?

• Yeah, Mrs.Conn. You gotta talk to her.
    Image result for someecard betting someone half your shit youll love them forever
  • My sister's junior year she lived in an apartment with 4 or 5 other women.   They were supposed to have communal food and everyone shared grocery expenses.  Yeah, that lasted about a month.  Two people decided they were done sharing food and everyone was on their own.  They went through and labeled all the food and left nothing for my sister and another girl.   Then after the great grocery divide, people were eating my sister's food that she bought.  She confronted them and then locked her stuff up or hid it in her room. 

She lived alone her senior year. 
  • This is what college is about; learning how to navigate adult situations. Speak up, or have your food continuously eaten by someone else. 
    yep