Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum

Name Change.. ID Cards.. New Address.. ummm

So I am getting married in May. It's my first time and I want to change my last name to my husband-to-be. 

I think the instructions say you will have it changed on your social security card first?
And then you need to update your state ID card/license at the DMV.

Well I started to think hard about it and remembered we are moving in July. 

Can I wait to change my name until July? That way when I go to the DMV I can get my new name and my new address on my card? 

What am I supposed to do? What did you do?

Re: Name Change.. ID Cards.. New Address.. ummm

• Check the DMV regulations in the two states that will be concerned.  Chances are, you can wait.

Social Security card first.  After that, it is easy.
    httpiimgurcomTCCjW0wjpg
  • CMGragain said:
    Check the DMV regulations in the two states that will be concerned.  Chances are, you can wait.

Social Security card first.  After that, it is easy.
    Oh I'm not changing states. We are just changing address.
    I'm in Texas.
    I've been ticketed in the past for having the wrong address on my license.
    :(

It feels like I would be buying a new ID card with my new name... and then buying another new ID card with my new address the next month... It just felt really inefficient to me...  do I just go ahead and change my name and get my new ID and then deal with changing the address too..

Government departments are really slow.. maybe by the time I get my social security updated.. it will be closer to moving date and I'll be able to get my new ID at my new address. O:

Sorry I really am just new to all this and not sure what the proper steps were
  • Usually when you move you get a grace period to change your license address so I wouldn't worry about a couple of months. I changed states (this was years ago) immediately after we were married so I did social security first then driver's license.