Wedding Woes

Don't stay for them. They'll be fine without you.

Dear Prudence,

I have been working at my current job as a part-time legal assistant for four months with the expectation that I would be hired on as a full-time associate attorney and given a promotion after I graduated law school. (In my state, you do not need to take the bar.) I recently graduated and spoke to my boss, who indicated that I was “not ready yet” and offered to let me stay on as an assistant full time for the summer with the promise to “re-evaluate” the situation in the fall. The job I am doing is essentially the work of an attorney: I do everything my counterpart (who got the associate position) does except make court appearances, and I do it for much less money. I feel betrayed and hurt—this has been a blow to my confidence and my bank account. Everyone has encouraged me to pursue other options, but they are limited at this point, and the firm would be taking a huge hit if I left because a full-time associate is leaving soon, too. I would feel guilty for leaving my counterpart with the extra workload, but I am also concerned I wouldn’t find another job anyway. I’m afraid that continuing to work as a legal assistant when I can legally practice law as an attorney will look bad on my résumé to future employers.

—Qualified and Underpaid

Re: Don't stay for them. They'll be fine without you.

• 1) Take the bar exam for your state if other respected attorneys in your field have passed it. 

2) Document your performance.  Add it to your resume and start looking.

3) Is your expectation reasonable? Were you mislead or is this aggressive for your field? 

4) Finally, assuming that your expectations are valid, don't NOT make a career choice out of feelings you have for an employer that isn't respecting you.    Treat all as you're doing the job you're hired to do but also understand that you should leave if other opportunities to further your career present themselves.