Wedding Woes

You don't have to wear a 'label' that doesn't 'fit'.

Dear Prudence,

Ten years ago, while I was in college, I had a sexual relationship with a friend of my father’s. I graduated high school a few years early, so I was still technically underage. The relationship was purely on my terms, largely pursued by me, and was strictly no strings attached. Eventually I sensed he had romantic feelings for me, so I ended it. I was already pretty experienced at this point. I never thought of it as anything predatory (I initiated the sex) and never felt victimized. Only a handful of people know about this (due to the fact that he was, and still is, married). I’m not ashamed of it and just thought of it as part of my sexual past. Recently with all of the #MeToo conversation, I’ve been wondering if I should feel like a victim. I’ve thought about it and even talked about it with a therapist, but I still don’t feel like I was preyed upon. Am I crazy for not feeling that I was abused?

—Was I a Victim?

Re: You don't have to wear a 'label' that doesn't 'fit'.

• That man should have known how to say no.  Also, and off topic I know, i heard of graduating ONE year early but what school allows “a few”?

• @CharmedPam If you qualify, there were ways in my school. You could take the next grade up for certain requirements like Math or English, that way when you're back in school you can either take the following grade or something else.
    Ex: Take gr 9 math during school year, take gr 10 math in summer and potentially take gr 11 math during the gr 10 school year.
  • Although the 'friend' should have said no - LW seemed to be mature enough to initiate it and end it.

Should they feel like a victim? I would say no. They even said they didn't feel victimized.
  • I agree - don't act like a victim just because you feel like you should.  If you don't feel like one, then you don't feel like one.  
  • edited August 2019