Wedding Woes

Disability, gender, and job applications.

Dear Prudence,

I’ve been applying to jobs for many months now. I have a disability and am genderqueer. Many jobs have boxes to check to disclose a disability, which I do because I have to tell them at some point, but a co-worker at a previous job once told me our boss said she wouldn’t have hired me if she’d known beforehand (illegal but true). I have also been checking the box that says I don’t disclose my gender because there are only ever male and female options. I almost never hear back from these applications, which I know is part of applying online, but I can’t tell if I’m screwing myself over by disclosing these things about myself. Should I just check a gender box even if it’s not accurate?

—Honesty in Applying

Re: Disability, gender, and job applications.

• I would never tell anyone to hide anything about their identity or live in a way that isn’t true for them. 

However the USA is still an ableist, homophobic country where companies make illegal hiring decisions all the time. I wouldn’t disclose a pregnancy when I was applying for a job because even though it’s not legal for them to discriminate you can bet that it happens all the time. LW needs to weigh the possibility that they are being screened out (which is wrong, illegal, and all kinds of effed up). I would see out progressive companies, but knowing they also have effed up hiring practices. 
  • In Canada this happens also ... HOWEVER if there are ways to semi-prove these are the causes, you can take the case to basically a labour board and they investigate.

Unfortunately I don't see this changing very soon, but hopefully people accept people as is and ignore the situation they think they have