Wedding Woes

There's no excuse for being unprofessional.

Dear Prudence,

I am a young woman and physician in training. I am terrible with names and work with a rotating team of nurses, social workers, nursing assistants, and other physicians. I work at several hospitals on several teams. I tend to refer to people as “my dear” or “my love.” This includes everyone: my patients, other doctors I work with, social workers, etc. The other day at work, I was speaking with a staff member. I said, “Thank you so much, my dear, for your help earlier.” Later that day she told me she doesn’t like nicknames and asked me to call her by her name. I apologized and thanked her for telling me. In the future, I will call her by her name (which I won’t forget)! Is this a practice I should stop for everyone? I mean it kindly, and my intention is to be warm. I am cognizant of my role as the doctor with nurses and social workers (even if I am in my first year of training) and don’t want to come across as patronizing or make anyone uncomfortable. This interaction has made me second-guess myself. Am I no worse than a creepy male boss?! Is there a kind term of endearment that would be more neutral?

Re: There's no excuse for being unprofessional.

• For anyone in a work setting, use people's names. I've had doctors, etc. call me things like "sweetie" and I find it way too familiar. Save the terms of endearment for your family and friends and be more professional at work.
  • Please do not use terms of endearment if there is no mutual endearing.

People have names and they should be used until you have reached a point in a SOCIAL relationship when those names are possible to change. 

Do not blur the lines of personal and professional and one of the best ways to do this is to address people by name and also by professional title. 
  • I'd be extremely put off my being called "love" or "dear". Commit to learning people's names!