Wedding Woes

Taking my own advice re: Therapy

So I’m taking the advice I always give on Prudie Day to start talking with a therapist. I’m struggling a bit with anxiety postpartum and want to get things under control before they get too bad. I’ve never done any therapy before, does anyone have advice? What to expect? I have an initial phone call with someone next week (I’m surprised how quickly I could get in) to see if it’s a good fit. 

Also, why is it so expensive?? The doctor is out of network so my plan doesn’t cover it and her hourly is $200?! 

Re: Taking my own advice re: Therapy

• I have never seen a therapist (though I've thought about it) so I can't really answer your questions.

But want to wish you luck with it.  I'm sorry to hear you're suffering from PPD and I hope therapy helps with that.  I'm glad you are recognizing it and taking steps to take care of yourself.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Ouch! 

When I went the first time, I did some research on my in-network on insurance and then had my PCP refer me to the in-network.  This time, I had that info already and was able to stay in-network, so it falls under my co-pay.  You might also have an EAP? plan (sometimes the acronym is different) under your employer that might cover a beginning number to help out with cost.