Not Engaged Yet

Help..?

First of all, I'm new to the website, so hello! I found it years ago but was no where close to marriage so I forgot aobut my account. A few years later here I am. I still don't have a ring (technically), but I came back to this website in search of help.

My boyfriend of almost two years and I have been dancing around the talk of marriage for a few months. From what he has told me, I know that he has no intention of getting married (let alone engaged) until he is at least done with college and secure in his life. He says it would be unfair to me to get married and be unable to provide for me (even though I am in college and want a career of my own. He is so cute). 

Anyway, as of lately I've been very pro-engagement. It's awkward talking to him about it though, because I really don't want to be the girl who pushes and pushes and pushes to get married. But at the same time, I really want to..

I guess I'm here asking for advice from people who want to get married to their SO, but their SO hasn't popped the question yet. What do you do to keep yourself in check?

On a side note:
1. I wear a ring on my wedding finger, a ring he gave me for our first Valentines day. It is not an engagement ring.
2. I know I should just be happy with him and shouldn't rush it but.. I really hope someone else understands my "settle-down-itus"..

Re: Help..?

• luvdncn90luvdncn90 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I understand it...but he will propose when he is ready and only then. A lot of the girls here will tell you nothing changes when you get engaged, excpet for now you have to plan a wedding and it's not always as fun as it sounds.

Enjoy your relationship in the now. I also like to go out with my girlfriends and continue my life. It's really easy.

• edited December 2011