Moms and Maids

4 moms.....how to get all involved??

Hi, my name is Rachel, I am new to the knot! I am just in the beginning stages of planning my wedding. One thing I am worried about is that I have 4 mothers to get involved in the wedding. I have my mom, my mom's wife (yes, that is not a typo), my dad's wife, and my fiance's mom. Obviously I want my mom to be the most involved, but I don't want anyone else to feel left out! What are some ways to get them involved (but not TOO involved) with some of the wedding planning??

Also, my dad's wife and him got married only about 3 years ago, and so she has been offering that I can use her veil and her slip and her headband, etc. and suggesting I use their DJ and officiant and everything. And while I may use some of the vendors they used, I don't really want her veil or headband...how do I tell her no without hurting her feelings??

Re: 4 moms.....how to get all involved??

• Catwoman708Catwoman708 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment
    edited December 2011

It's really sweet that you like the idea of including them, but too many cooks spoil the broth, and could easily turn your wedding planning into a nightmare that makes you want to elope.

When you ask for their input or opinion, they start to become personally invested in the final decision.  You are likely to get four conflicting opinions, meaning 3 of them will end up being a little hurt you didn't go with their opinion.  This could be on anything from the venue, the size of the guest list, your bridesmaid dresses, the flowers, the cake, how the invitations are worded, or what order toasts are done in.