Moms and Maids

Mother's Dress Nightmare

Hi everyone,

This is my first time using the community chat so here goes.

My mom and I have had a great relationship but don't always agree on clothing/style...she tends to like sparkly/over the top items where I like classic pieces. Anyway, a few months ago my mom texted me about a potential Mother of the Bride dress that she wanted to buy. I asked her to wait so that I could see what it looked like. She only had to wait a few days as the dress she liked was at the same store as my bridesmaids' dresses. But she bought it anyways and I hate it. It's a black mermaid style dress with a lace overlay, sweetheart neckline(same as my dress) and a big patch of sparkles. When I saw the dress I immediately told my mom I wasn't crazy about it...especially because it has lace like my dress and is strapless and puffy. She told me I was just being dramatic and said I'd get over it. She refuses to return it (apparently she cant and it was also VERY expensive). It's been a few months since our fight but I still can't help but think about how ridiculously over dressed she will look. We havent talked about it since!

I don't know what to do at this point. Just let it go? My fiance was quite insistent that I tell her she cant wear it but I basically already did and she just ignored me. She has also been a bit intense about other aspects of the wedding but the dress is the most irritating thing to me.

I also should mention that I expect my mom made the purchase on emotional impulse. My sister had recently announced she was moving across the country to be with her boyfriend...which my entire family disapproves of. So I think maybe she wanted to do something nice for herself and as a result did not think about my feelings at all.

Anyway, that's all for now! Just not sure what I should do!

Re: Mother's Dress Nightmare