Getting in Shape

1200 Calories

Let me start this post by telling you I'm petite. I'm only 5'3 and I have a very small frame. I am SO close to my goal in terms of the size (in clothes) I want to be, I can taste it. With that said, I definitely still have a decent amount of body fat to lose. I've been eating 1200 calories a day, probably for the past 6 months. In order to maintain the weight that I've reached I need to eat about 1600 calories a day. With the philosophy that I need a 500 calorie deficit to lose 1 lb a week - this would not be possible if I need to stay at 1200 calories. Because I am petite would it be ok to reduce my intake to 1100 or will my body still go into starvation mode? I only weigh myself every 2 weeks (I know the scale isn't everything, I measure too) and I am losing less than a pound each time I weigh. I have had a crazy busy schedule on weekends (i.e. a lot or parties, picnics, weddings, etc) in the past month and still do over the next few weeks so I know this has partially hampered my progress - but any advice on going below 1200 calories for a petite person?
Image and video hosting by TinyPic Daisypath Anniversary tickers Follow Me on Pinterest

Re: 1200 Calories

• Here's the thing. When you're petite, it's harder to lose weight. You're still losing. Yes, it's slower than ideal, but that's what happens when you're small, unfortunately. With that said, it's possible that 1100 would be ok for you. But look at it this way...how much difference will an extra 100 calories a day really make on your weight loss? It will take you 5 weeks to see the additional pound loss. To ke, that's not worth cutting your fuel.

Everything the light touches is my kingdom.
  • edited May 2012
    Totally agree with J... 
    In addition, keep an eye on yourself and how you're feeling. Are you feeling super hungry right now, even on 1,200 a day? 
    If so, you may be staggering because your body wants more than what you'regiving it.